Welcome to my blog

 

Hello.  My name is Amara, and I am overachiever

I want to grow up and be Superwoman.  Sometimes I forget that I am not already her. 

I want the ability to do 12 hours of flawless work in a 7.5-hour workday.  And earn a master’s degree at the same time.  And be an attentive wife.  And do interesting freelance work on the side.  And put a good home-cooked meal on the table every night.  And use enough coupons to buy $100 worth of groceries for $1.75.  And regularly entertain friends and family at home.  And say yes to every volunteer opportunity that comes my way.  And (someday) raise intelligent, well-adjusted children with good hearts.  All, of course, while getting eight hours of sleep a night and staying caught up on my favorite TV shows.  See where I’m going here? 

I have always been this way and don’t anticipate that changing much any time soon, so I’m learning to embrace it.  But instead of letting it stress me out too much, I’m trying to better manage my time so that I can continue to do as many of these things (and others) as I can without completely losing my mind.  

Writing a blog is a serious time commitment, as I am quickly discovering in the social media course I am taking this semester with Dr. Carrie Brown-Smith.  It’s not something I would have started on my own, but thankfully this class is pushing me to make more effective use of social media.  So I figured I would use my “beat blog” for the class to explore the time management balancing act we all perform every day.

In the coming weeks I will blog about the trials and tribulations of working full-time and attending graduate school at night, while at the same time juggling all of life’s other commitments.  I am no expert at time management, but I have learned a few things trying to make it all work over the last 2.5 years that I look forward to sharing with you.

What are your tried-and-true tricks for making the most of your time when you’re at your busiest?

10 Responses to Welcome to my blog

  1. DJ says:

    Amara, I totally hear you! I just went back to school and I am trying to manage work, school, volunteering, and a social life. I always feel like one thing has to suffer in order for other things to succeed. One trick I am using is to schedule, schedule, schedule. Lots of lists. AND making sure I make a little time for myself every day, even if it just ten minutes of reading!Good luck!

    • DJ, thanks for chiming in! I find it really hard to make time for myself, so good for you for making that a priority! I need to do more of that, esp. some that doesn’t involve just rotting my brain in front of the TV. Good luck with school – you can do it!!

  2. CARRIE BROWN says:

    Great post, Amara. Hopefully you can teach your professor a thing or two, since this is something I have a problem with. My main technique I guess is just limiting the amount of time I spend on things so that I can attempt to move each ball forward a little bit, rather than just one while all the others are a total fail. But especially this semester, I’m not sure I’m being very successful.

  3. Thanks Dr. Brown. I think so many busy people have issues with this, so hopefully the blog will attract a broad spectrum of interest. I too have a tendency to hyper-focus on one thing while other important things (esp. cleaning my house) fall by the wayside. It’s a balancing act that we could all do better at!

  4. Eli Reich says:

    I would love to offer you some time-management advice. However, you live with me and so you would know I am full of sh*t and have no time-management skills!

  5. Oh Amara. I will read every single one of your blogs posts. I will be a dedicated follower. I need your commitment and time management skills, so please continue to inspire!

  6. I’m a recovering perfectionist. An old boss and mentor pulled me aside one afternoon and gave me a bit of sage advice: Sometimes, things are going to drop. The important thing is being able to identify projects, assignments, and tasks than can sit on the back burner until there’s enough time to work them properly… as well as the ones that are “nice to do”, but just take too much time away from the “must do” projects. I had a hard time with the concept at first, but with time I’ve gotten pretty good at “project triage.”

  7. Tresa Undem says:

    Great first post – impressed by the length!

  8. Pregnancy Miracle…

    […]below you’ll find my links page http://www.pregnancymiraclez.net/my-favourite-sites/ with some very good websites that I think you should definitely visit[…]…

  9. […] my first post on this blog, I (only sort of) joked about wanting to grow up and be the superwoman who can use […]

Leave a Reply

